Ajnabee Mothers’ Day Post: A Tribute to my Mum

This Sunday is Mothers’ Day in the UK, but sadly my mum is in London, and I will be in the deepest Tarai, so as I can’t be there to celebrate it with her. So I thought I would do a blog post in her honour – albeit a few days early because I leave in the morning and you never know when you will be able to get online during load-shedding season.

This is my Mum, Cherry

The Ajnabee's Mum

As well as being a mum of three she is an area manager of a national housing and homelessness NGO back in the UK and is on a personal quest to kick the asses of anyone who thinks that they can spend all day drinking tea and going to pointless seminars just because they work in the voluntary sector. I think that the world needs a lot more people like her.

I owe a huge thank you to my mum for….well, just about everything. But in particular I thank her for backing me 110% in all the things that I have chosen to do and for giving me her unconditional love and support wherever I am in the world. There are few things more precious. I think it’s impossible for me to understand how selfless she is sometimes.

On this Mother’s Day, I also want to add that my mum was particularly awesome in the months before I moved to Nepal to start my current job. I became a statistic of the recession at the end of 2008 when my work as a freelance writer started to dry up and I was struggling to find other work in London. Like many other people my age (and older) I ended up living back at home with my mum because I was broke (which would not be particularly odd in South Asia, but it felt a bit odd for me). My mum was an absolute legend, enduring my job interview panics and tolerating the fact that her living room was turned into an office for months on end, strewn with copies of the FT, empty coffee mugs and the scrunched-up foil wrappers of tunnocks tea cakes. To her immense credit, she also put up with a very rowdy recession-themed ‘office Christmas party’ that I threw in my ‘office’ (i.e. her living room) at the end of the year (I mean, surely freelance writers should get to have an office party too?).

I wish I could find some way to thank my mum enough. Not only for this but also for passing on to me her strong values, never-give-up attitude, and her damn good bone structure. Mum, if we were in the same country, I hope we would be doing something lovely to celebrate Mothers’ Day, at least part of which would involve sitting around in bed drinking amaretto.

I’m feeling tooo senti now, isn’t it, but before I sign off I’d like to remind British expats out there that yes, Mother’s Day is THIS Sunday! Don’t forget..

3 Responses to “Ajnabee Mothers’ Day Post: A Tribute to my Mum”

  1. tameadventures Says:

    Hurray Aunt Cherry! This expat is actually getting a visit from her mum this weekend so thanks for the reminder that I should do something about that… Loving your blog, xx Agnes

  2. This is a wonderful post, we love you Chezza!

  3. Lizzie Rushton Says:

    Awwwww Saffy that is toooooo cute! I remember the school picks and ice-cream treats after GCSE exams with fondness! love to you from cloudly Lincolnshire.xxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

